About Bhutan

BHUTflagAN is known as the last ‘Shangri-La’ on earth, the land of thunder dragon. It is a Buddhist kingdom on the Himalayan region in South Asia. Bhutan is bordered to the north by China and to the south, east and west by India. It is separated from Nepal by the Indian state of Sikkim and Bangladesh by the Indian states of Assam and West Bengal. A trip to Bhutan is to recap the olden days of intact nature and times long lost by outside world.

It is a land of monasteries, fortresses and topography ranging from plains to steep mountains, glacial lakes and valleys. Among Bhutan’s 20 districts (Dzongkhags), Thimphu is the largest and capital city. The Bhutan’s only international airport is in Paro Dzongkhag, some 60 kms to the capital city. The national Airline-Druk Air and Tashi Air- a private carrier, the only two airlines fly the Bhutanese skies. There is no rail service in Bhutan. However, black toped connects all twenty districts of Bhutan. This is a unique country, geographically, politically, socially and culturally.

Twenty Dzongkhags (districts) of Bhutan


Thimphu (capital city)

  1. Paro (it has the only international airport in Bhutan)
  2. Haa
  3. Chukkha
  4. Punakha
  5. Wangduephodrang
  6. Trongsa
  7. Zhemgang
  8. Sarpang
  9. Tsirang
  10. Dagana
  11. Gasa
  12. Samtse
  13. Bumthang
  14. Lhuntse
  15. Mongar
  16. Pemagatshel
  17. Samdrup Jongkhar
  18. Tashigang
  19. Tashiyangtse